(clockwise from top) EXO, Kang Daniel, ASTRO, Secret Number / Photos: Ten Asia DB

The voting for the preliminary round of the 5th TOP TEN Awards (TTA), which selects the top global K-pop artists, has come to an end. The top artists of 10 countries have been chosen through a fan vote. 


The 5th TTA is an event that determines the top artists in the K-pop industry through mobile and online votes submitted by fans from 10 regions and countries, including South Korea, the US, UK, China, Japan, Thailand, Mexico, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Indonesia. 


The preliminary voting round, which went on from January 12 to 25, drew over 7.15 million votes. This figure represents an increase of three times the amount of votes that were submitted during the 4th TTA, and it verifies the explosive response that the awards event has received from K-pop fans around the globe. 


(top to bottom) PENTAGON, GOT7, SEVENTEEN / Photos: Ten Asia DB

A total of seven artists and groups were selected by the fans of the 10 regions, including Kang Daniel, EXO, SEVENTEEN, GOT7, PENTAGON, ASTRO, and Secret Number. The chosen musical acts are honored with the title of “Best Artist” of the respective regions.


The seven artists and groups voted by fans from the 10 regions will move on to the final round to compete for the title of the Best Global Artist of the Second Half of 2020. The final voting round will be held for approximately two weeks, from February 3 to 16. 


The final winner, who will receive a trophy for the Best Global Artist of the Second Half of 2020, will be determined on February 17. 


The final winner will also be featured in an article in Ten Asia’s Ten Star magazine, as well as in a print advertisement. 


K-pop fans from the previously mentioned 10 regions who wish to take part in the final voting round can do so by signing up at the official TTA website. By signing up, you can receive a total of four free votes: one that can be used daily and three for viewing ads. A maximum of 30 votes can be submitted in one day.


More information about the awards can be found on the official TTA website.


List of Winners by Country for the 5th TTA

▲ South Korea: Kang Daniel

▲ US: Kang Daniel

▲ China: EXO


▲ UK: Secret Number

▲ Thailand: GOT7

▲ Mexico: ASTRO

▲ Malaysia: PENTAGON

▲ The Philippines: EXO

▲ Indonesia: Secret Number