Winter Sonata

Korean actor Bae Yong-joon (left) and actress Choi Ji-woo in hit TV series “Winter Sonata.” [KBS]

Jang Keun-suk

Korean actor Jang Keun-suk on the set of KBS romance drama “Love Rain.” [KBS]


The 10th anniversary of the Korean entertainment boom in Japan will be celebrated through a special awards ceremony in October.

The “Korean Entertainment 10th Anniversary Awards in Japan” is set to be held at Tokyo’s Makuhari Metse on October 19 with its Korean star award winners, the event’s organizing committee announced through its official website last week.

Celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Hallyu, or Korean Wave, since “Winter Sonata” hit NHK in April 2003, the awards ceremony will hand out the “Korean Drama Awards in Japan” and “Korean Enta Awards Japan,” each of which will name Japan’s most beloved Korean dramas, actors and K-pop artists

According to the interim results for the drama awards announced last Thursday, “Winter Sonata” grabbed top status, followed by Jang Keun-suk’s “You’re Beautiful” and JYJ Yuchun’s “Rooftop Prince” at No. 2 and 3, respectively, among the top 100 Korean dramas.

Male stars Bae Yong-joon, Jang Keun-suk and Yuchun also grabbed the top three seeds in order on the top 100 actors list, while female starlets Yoon Eun-hye, Choi Ji-woo and Kim Sun-ah ranked in the top three positions among 100 actresses.

Online votes for the best five male group artists, female group artists, male solo artists and female solo artists will be continued until September 30 for the music awards.

Nominees for the best boy groups are 30 teams including INFINITE, EXO, FTISLAND, MBLAQ, CNBLUE, JYJ, SHINee, Shinhwa and Super Junior, while 20 nominees for top female group artists are After School, A Pink, f(x), KARA, SISTAR, Girls’ Generation, 2NE1, 4minute and more.

Thirty four male solo artists are nominated, including Lee Seung-gi, Big Bang’s V.I. and G-Dragon, JYJ’s Kim Jae-joong and Xia Junsu, Kim Hyung-joon, Kim Hyung-jun and the late Park Yong-ha, while nominees for female solo artists are a relatively smaller number of 16, including IU, Lee Jung-hyun, Lee Hyori and BoA.

The star-studded award ceremony will go on air live on two TV channels, namely Japan’s Hallyu cable channel DATV and major channel TBS.

Reporter. Lee Hye Ji
Editor. Jessica Kim

Courtesy of KBS