K-pop boy band EXO pose at 28th Golden Disk Award held in Seoul, Korea on January 16, 2014. [TenAsia/ Paeng Hyun-joon]

K-pop boy band EXO pose at 28th Golden Disk Award held in Seoul, Korea on January 16, 2014. [TenAsia/ Paeng Hyun-joon]

K-pop boy band EXO took home Album of the Year at 28th Golden Disk Awards.

Hosted by SHINee’s Minho, BEAST’s Du-jun, CNBLUE’s Jung Yong-hwa, Girls’ Generation Tiffany, Taeyeon and anchor Oh Sang-jin, the ceremony was held at Grand Peace Palace at Kyung Hee Univeristy in Seoul on Thursday.

EXO’s leader Suho delivered their gratitude to fans, “Thank for this grand prize. Last year, we received the award for Rising Star and after a year, we got Album of the Year. It is an unforgettable honor. Because there were our seniors who have won this award in the past on stage tonight, I can really see how meaningful this award is. We will not forget that.”

D.O then added, “I am so glad EXO is receiving so much love! We will work hard to make others happy.” “We will indeed work harder. We love you,” Tao and Lay also said in Chinese.

Last year, EXO released their first studio album “XOXO(KISS&HUG)” which sold over a million copies. It was the first time for an artist to do so in 12 years since veteran solo artist Kim Gun-mo and group god in 2001.

Meanwhile, EXO’s label mate SHINee took home three awards, Golden Disk Awards Album Division, Most Popular Album Award and Ceci Asia Icon Awards. Girls’ Generation nabbed two awards, Golden Disk Awards Song Division and Most Popular Song Award, while f(x) received Golden Disk Award Album Division.

Golden Disk Awards, first held in 1986, is one of the most prestigious awards in Korea that recognizes outstanding achievements of Korean music scene.

28th Golden Disk Awards

▶Album of the Year: EXO

▶Digital Song of the Year: PSY

▶Golden Disk Award Song Division: CNBLUE, SISTAR, A PINK, Lee Seung-chul, 2NE1, 4Minute, Davichi, Ailee

▶Golden Disk Award Album Division: Cho Yong-pil, Girls’ Generation, BEAST, INFINITE, SHINee, B1A4, EXO, f(x)

▶New Rising Star Award Song Division: Lim Kim, Crayon Pop

▶New Rising Star Award Album Division: Roy Kim, BTS

▶Most Popular Song Award: Roy Kim, Girls’ Generation

▶Most Popular Album Award: SHINee, BEAST

▶Special Award by the Executive Committee: Deul Guk HWa

▶Best Hip Hop Star: Baechigi

▶Ceci Asia Icon Award: SHINee, SISTAR

▶Good Will Star Award: CNBLUE

▶Producer of the Year: Hong Seung-sung, CEO of Cube Entertainment

Reporter. Euna Lee domino@tenasia.co.kr
Photographer. Paeng Hyun-joon pangpang@tenasia.co.kr